All-Party Parliamentary Group for Diagnostics

The All-Party Parliamentary Group for Diagnostics

The All-Party Parliamentary Group for Diagnostics exists to highlight the value of diagnostics, promote the diagnostic workforce, and improve diagnostic services by raising awareness of the barriers and solutions to optimising the early and swift diagnosis of diseases, illnesses, and injuries.

The success of efforts in elective recovery, reaching ambitions for earlier diagnosis of disease, and levelling up all depend on diagnostics. Diagnostic activity forms part of over 85% of patient pathways, making it central to a functioning health system. An early and quick diagnosis means better outcomes and better experience for patients, further demonstrating the importance of the diagnostic sector.

Given the size of the diagnostic backlog, there has never been a more important time for an APPG to discuss and provide solutions to optimising diagnostic services.


The APPG aims to:

  • Raise awareness of and champion the importance of diagnostics, the diagnostic workforce and the rest of the sector in Parliament, for example through debates. 
  • Inform parliamentarians of the challenges faced by the diagnostic workforce, industry, and patients and the barriers to delivering effective and innovate diagnostic services.
  • Influence the policy debate on healthcare to raise the prominence of diagnostics, convening experts and decision-makers to identify both problems and solutions.
  • Convene parliamentarians, industry experts, and health organisations/charities to investigate and advocate evidence-led solutions.


The APPG Officers, led by the Chair, meet quarterly. They support the APPGs activity, as well as being champions for diagnostics in Parliament.

  • Chair & Registered contact: Maggie Throup MP
  • Vice Chair: Grahame Morris MP
  • Vice Chair: Tim Farron MP
  • Vice Chair: The Rt. Hon. Lord Bethell
  • Vice Chair: Elliot Colborn
  • Vice Chair: Mary Robinson MP
  • Vice Chair: The Rt. Hon. Sir Oliver Heald KC MP
  • Vice Chair: Jim Shannon MP

The Secretariat

The group secretariat is being provided by The Royal College of Radiologists (RCR) and The Royal College of Pathologists (RCPath).

The RCR and the RCPath are the respective professional membership bodies for doctors specialising in clinical radiology and clinical oncology, and the 17 different pathology specialities including haematology, clinical biochemistry and medical microbiology.

Contact the group

If you have any questions or would like to find out more about the APPG, please email

This is not an official website of the House of Commons or the House of Lords. It has not been approved by either House or its committees. All-Party Parliamentary Groups are informal groups of Members of both Houses with a common interest in particular issues. The views expressed in these webpages are those of the group.