Our specialties
Exams & training

Member benefits


Foundation & core medical trainees

Foundation training will allow you to test, apply and expand the knowledge and skills you have gained at medical school.

Clinical oncology 

Internal Medicine Training (IMT) is the first point at which trainees choose to focus purely on medicine. At this stage, you will have decided to become a physician and will later choose which specialty within medicine you wish to practice. The training normally takes about two years and is divided between four and six rotations within different specialties.

IMT is managed by the Joint Royal Colleges of Physicians Training Board (JRCPTB) and we lead, support and educate those in clinical oncology. To move from Internal Medicine Training into higher specialty training, IMTs need to pass their MRCP (UK), which includes two written exams (Part 1 and Part 2) and a practical exam, PACES. You will also need to apply to your preferred specialty training posts. 

Clinical radiology

After Foundation Training you can consider whether your clinical skills will be enhanced by spending a period in core training in acute care clinical specialties such as medicine, surgery or paediatrics.

However, entry directly from FY2 is now the most common route. Explore other pages from our site to find information on what it is really like to be a clinical radiologist, the subspecialties and Special Interest Groups within radiology and how to apply for specialty training.

Career development

Our expert advice will guide you through all stages of your career, from choosing the right specialty, to offering support through professional networks.

Learn more about career development