Specialty recruitment

Recruitment and selection into Clinical Radiology and Nuclear Medicine training posts in England, Scotland, and Wales is carried out through a nationally coordinated process run by HEE London and South East Recruitment.

Due to uncertainty brought by the COVID-19 pandemic, the 2021 specialty recruitment interviews be undertaken online using Microsoft Teams. Applicants should ensure they read all relevant instructions carefully prior to their interview taking place.

Should the pandemic make delivery of remote interviews impossible, applicants will be ranked using their MSRA and verified self-assessment scores.

All information about the process, including access to the application portal, interview structure and applicant guidelines, will be published on the ORIEL recruitment system.

All enquiries about the process should be directed to HEE London and South East Recruitment through their support portal. Please note the College is not able to answer queries about individual applications.

Specialty Recruitment Assessment (SRA)

In line with a number of other specialties, a Specialty Recruitment Assessment (SRA) test was incorporated into radiology recruitment in 2016. All applicants are required to sit the SRA at a test centre in January of the recruitment year. Applicants are ranked according to their SRA score and invitations to interview are circulated on the basis of rank until all available 600 interview slots are filled. Full details of the test, including the available test venues in the UK and overseas, will be published on the ORIEL recruitment system when applications open

The selection day

Any details that applicants need to know about the selection day will be provided as part of the application process. 

2023 recruitment timeline (provisional dates) 

Applications period10:00 am Thursday 3 November to 16:00 pm Thursday 1 December 2022
MSRA invitations circulated20 December 2022
MSRA Assessment Window5 to 17 January 2023
MSRA results published17 February 2023
Invitations to interview circulated14 February 2023
Remote Microsoft Teams InterviewsThursday 2 March to Tuesday 7 March 2023
Initial offers circulated17:00 pm Thursday 30 March 2023

Applicant enquiries

All enquiries should be directed to HEE London and South East Recruitment through the applicant enquiries portal.

Accredited transferable competencies

Because of the nature of radiology training, there are currently no arrangements in place to recognise “accredited transferable competencies” from previous training in other specialties.