Congratulations to our New Fellows – Autumn 2019

Monday 2 December 2019

We were delighted to celebrate over 300 members being admitted as New Fellows at our Autumn Admission Ceremony on Friday 22 November 2019. The Admission Ceremony is also an opportunity to acknowledge the achievements of outstanding individuals who have made a remarkable contribution to their professions.

The ceremony saw the Roentgen Professorship for 2019 awarded to Dr Andrew Plumb. This Professorship is presented annually to an individual with an outstanding track record in clinical radiology research, and the Roentgen Professor plays a significant role in promoting and encouraging research by clinical radiology trainees. 

Dr Mohammad Abd Alkhalik Basha received the Editor’s Medal for 2018, which is awarded to the first author of the best paper published in Clinical Radiology. The Ella Preiskel Prize is awarded to the first author of the most outstanding paper on paediatric radiology published in Clinical Radiology, and was received by Dr Yan Zhi Ong for 2018. Dr Alex Ng Wing Hung received the 2018 Ellis Barnett Prize as first author of the most outstanding paper published in Clinical Radiology with ultrasound content.

The Frank Ellis Medal is awarded to the paper published in Clinical Oncology considered to have made the best contribution to advancing science in cancer treatment or in the use of radiation in the management of benign disease. The 2018 award was presented to Dr Eric Vigneault.

Three outstanding First FRCR Examination candidates were awarded the Frank Doyle Medal for clinical oncology. Our autumn 2019 winners were Dr Shefali Pradeep Parikh, Dr Fiona Jane Wilson and Dr Thomas Young. For clinical radiology, the Frank Doyle Medal is awarded to outstanding candidates in the Final FRCR Part A Examination. Dr Abdul Razik Thalakkottu received the medal for the summer 2019 examination.

The annual Trainer of the Year Awards went to Dr Katy Clarke from the West Yorkshire Deanery and Dr Judith Anderson from the South East Scotland Deanery, for their outstanding contributions to teaching and training in their specialties.

Two distinguished members, Dr George Bunea and Dr Sheikh Shiblee Hafeez, were elected to Fellowship without Examination.

The Gold Award was presented Dr Vanita Gandhi and Dr Stephen Scullion  two exceptional candidates who were successful at their first attempt of the Final Examination for the Fellowship. 

Professor Tim Illidge concluded the ceremony by delivering an excellent David Skeggs lecture on ‘From magic bullets to effective anti-cancer therapeutics – converting failure into success'.

Admission Ceremony autumn 2019 David Skeggs lecture

Congratulations to all our medal and award winners, and to every New Fellow who has reached this milestone in their career. We would like to thank all our New Fellows, guests, speakers and Officers who helped to make the Admission Ceremony such an enjoyable occasion

Take a look at our #RCRFellows highlights from social media: