About the President

President: Dr Jeanette Dickson

Jeanette Dickson graduated from Glasgow University. After gaining her MRCP, she initially trained in clinical oncology at the Beatson in Glasgow. She undertook a MD in 'predicting intrinsic radiosensitivity' at the Paterson Institute, Manchester. She completed her training at Mount Vernon Cancer Centre, where she was appointed a consultant in 2002. Clinically, her main interest is in the multimodality management of thoracic malignancies. She was Clinical Director of the department for five years. She has a significant interest in education, holding a number of roles including RCR Tutor, Clinical Tutor and Training Programme Director, culminating in her becoming the inaugural Head of School of Clinical Oncology for London and Kent Surry Sussex Deaneries. She held this post, responsible for over one third of UK trainees, for four years. She has been closely involved with the RCR for ten years, holding office first as Medical Director, Professional Practice and then Vice President. She was elected as President from 1 September 2019.

Professor Nicola Strickland2016-2019
Dr Giles Maskell2013–2016
Dr Jane Barrett OBE2010–2013
Professor Andy Adam CBE2007–2010
Professor Dame Janet Husband DBE2004–2007
Dr Dan Ash2001–2004
Professor Peter Armstrong1998–2001
Dr Michael Brindle CBE1995–1998
Sir Christopher Paine1992–1995
Dr Oscar Craig1989–1992
Professor E Rhys Davies CBE1986–1989
Mr William Ross CBE TD DL1983–1986
Dr John Laws CBE1980–1983
Professor Robert Steiner CBE1977–1980
Professor Eric Easson CBE1975–1977
Professor Sir Howard Middlemiss CMG1974–1975