Welcome to our new Fellows

Monday 4 December 2017

New RCR Fellows being admitted during the ceremony

We were delighted to welcome a total of 170 new Fellows at our bi-annual Admission Ceremony on 24 November 2017; one of the most important events in the College calendar.

The FRCR is a widely recognised and highly regarded mark of considerable achievement and distinction in our two specialties. This year's autumn ceremony saw two Fellows  Dr Susan Barter and Dr Denis Remedios presented with the Exceptional Contribution Award in recognition of their exceptional service to the College.

First FRCR clinical oncology examiners Dr Roger A'Hern, Dr Rhona Anderson, Professor Catherine Hewitt, Dr Eric O'Neill and Professor Kevin Prise were welcomed with Honorary Membership, having made significant contributions to the delivery and development of the FRCR Part 1 exam.

Fellowships without Examination were awarded to Dr Ashim Lahiri, Dr Peter Schnatterbeck and Dr Afshin Alavi. Having trained overseas, they have worked alongside College Fellows to make significant contributions to radiology and oncology training and practice in the UK. 

The Gold Award is given to an exceptional candidate from each Faculty following a successful first attempt at the Final Examination for the Fellowship. The award for the autumn 2017 examination in clinical radiology went to Dr Christopher Miller from the Leeds/Bradford training scheme. The award for the autumn 2017 examination in clinical oncology went to Dr Catherine Hanna of the West of Scotland training scheme.

Dr John Curtis then delivered an engaging 15th David Skeggs Lecture entitled ‘Has Occam’s Razor become blunt in Radiology?.’ The ceremony was followed by our New Fellows’ Dinner and the presentation of The Trainer Award, which is awarded annually to a UK-based consultant radiologist and consultant oncologist who have made an outstanding contribution to teaching and training at a local, regional or national level.

Dr Frances Yuille, Medical Director for Education and Training, presented the Trainer Award in Clinical Oncology for 2017 to Dr Jill Bishop. Dr Bishop was nominated by trainees in the North Wales area, having set up the North Wales Training Programme. Dr William Ramsden, Medical Director for Education and Training, presented the Trainer Award in Clinical Radiology for 2017 to Dr Barbara Flont. Dr Flont is the supervisor for visiting trainees at Raigmore hospital in Inverness.

We extend our heartiest congratulations to all award winners and to all our new Fellows.