Clinical Excellence Awards 2020

Clinical Excellence Awards (CEAs) recognise and reward NHS consultants and academic GPs in England and Wales who perform over and above the standard expected of their role. Awards are given for quality and excellence, acknowledging exceptional personal contributions.

There are 12 levels of award. Levels 1–8 are awarded locally (employer based awards) and levels 9–12 (consecutively bronze, silver, gold and platinum) are awarded nationally (England and Wales). 

To be considered for an award, consultants and academic GPs will have to demonstrate achievement in developing and delivering high-quality patient care, and commitment to the continuous improvement of the NHS.

The awards are co-ordinated and awarded by the Advisory Committee on Clinical Excellence Awards (ACCEA), sponsored by the Department of Health and Social Care. There are only 300 awards available every year, covering bronze, silver, gold and platinum and all medical specialties, so the process is very competitive. 

2020 awards

The 2020 awards round will open on Thursday 13 February and close at 5pm Thursday 9 April

A formal announcement of the 2020 competition and confirmation of the application window dates is on the ACCEA website 

The RCR will not run a ranking and nomination process but will put its efforts into providing a citation for any Fellow who requests one, conditional upon receipt by us of application forms, CV and any key points for the citation by 5pm Thursday 5 March.

Fellows wishing to apply for a national award (Bronze, Silver, Gold or renewal) and requesting a citation from the College should send their forms, CV and key points by email (please note that there are separate email addresses for clinical radiology and clinical oncology).

Platinum awards

Platinum awards are assessed by the Academy of Medical Royal Colleges before being submitted to ACCEA. Anyone wishing to apply for a platinum award should submit their forms by email by 5pm Thursday 20 February. The RCR will provide a citation for any Fellow if a request is made when these forms are submitted.

Please note that late applications will not be accepted under any circumstances.

Who can apply for an award?

The Advisory Committee on Clinical Excellence Awards (ACCEA) will accept applications for new national awards from consultants and academic GPs working for the NHS in England and Wales and for renewed awards from those due to renew their award in 2020.

Award holders will need to submit a renewal application if:

  • they received their current award in the 2016 round
  • their award was last renewed in 2015 (awarded in 2011, 2006, 2001)

In some cases, award holders will be renewing out of the usual cycle. Awards are reviewed earlier if there is a change in job or a significant change in job plan.

Application forms and guidance notes will be set out on the ACCEA website ahead of the round opening.

Applicants should be aware that it is their responsibility and not the College's to ensure that they complete the form on ACCEA's website and submit it by 5pm Thursday 9 April. The College is unable to upload any supporting statements until your application has been submitted to ACCEA.

Contact us about the Clinical Excellence Awards

If you require any further information or advice please contact the RCR as follows either clinical radiology or clinical oncology.