Clinical Excellence Awards 2019

Clinical Excellence Awards (CEAs) recognise and reward NHS consultants and academic GPs in England and Wales who perform over and above the standard expected of their role. Awards are given for quality and excellence, acknowledging exceptional personal contributions.

There are 12 levels of award. Levels 1–8 are awarded locally (employer based awards) and levels 9–12 (consecutively bronze, silver, gold and platinum) are awarded nationally (England and Wales). 

Applicants have to demonstrate achievement in developing and delivering high-quality patient care, and commitment to the continuous improvement of the NHS.

The awards are co-ordinated and awarded by the Advisory Committee on Clinical Excellence Awards (ACCEA), for the Department of Health and Social Care. There are 300 national awards available in 2019, covering all levels and all medical specialties. The RCR only makes a contribution to the process in respect of national awards at bronze, silver and gold levels.  

2019 awards

The 2019 awards round opened on Thursday 7 February and closed at 17:00 on Thursday 4 April. No application forms or citation can now be submitted to ACCEA.

The ACCEA timetable for assessing applications is:

  • June to October 2019 – sub-committees consider applications
  • November 2019 – ACCEA Main Committee and ministers approve recommendations
  • December 2019 – ACCEA informs applicants if they’re successful or not

Platinum awards

Platinum awards are assessed by the Academy of Medical Royal Colleges before being submitted to ACCEA. The closing date for anyone wishing to apply for a Platinum award was 14 February.

Contacting the College about the Clinical Excellence Awards

If you require any further information or advice please contact the RCR as follows either clinical radiology or clinical oncology).