Clinical Excellence Awards 2018 - England and Wales

Clinical Excellence Awards recognise and reward NHS consultants and academic GPs who perform over and above the standard expected of their role. Awards are given for quality and excellence, acknowledging exceptional personal contributions.

There are 12 levels of award. Levels 1–8 are awarded locally (employer based awards) and levels 9–12 (consecutively bronze, silver, gold and platinum) are awarded nationally (England and Wales). 

To be considered for an award, consultants and academic GPs will have to demonstrate achievement in developing and delivering high-quality patient care, and commitment to the continuous improvement of the NHS.

The awards are co-ordinated and awarded by the Advisory Committee on Clinical Excellence Awards (ACCEA), sponsored by the Department of Health and Social Care. There are only 300 awards available every year, covering bronze, silver, gold and platinum and all medical specialties, so the process is very competitive. 

The deadline for a College citation has now passed.

Who can apply for an award?

ACCEA will accept applications for new National Awards and applications from those due to renew their award in 2018. Consultants will need to put in a renewal if:

  • They received their current award in the 2014 round
  • Their award was last renewed in 2013 (awarded 2009, 2004, 1999)

Some awards may be renewed outside of the usual cycle if there is a change in job or a significant change in job plan.

Application forms and guidance notes are available to download on the ACCEA website.

Bronze and Silver applicants may choose to submit one of the following options:

  • Research & Innovation (Form D)
  • Teaching & Training (Form E)
  • Leadership Management (Form F)

Gold applicants should submit two of these options.

Applicants should be aware that it is their responsibility and not the College's to ensure that they complete the form on ACCEA's website and submit it by their closing date (17:00 on Thursday 12 April 2018).

Contacting the College about the Clinical Excellence Awards

If you require any further information or advice please contact the Clinical Excellence Awards team (either clinical radiology or clinical oncology).