Clinical Excellence Awards

Clinical Excellence Awards (CEAs) recognise and reward NHS consultants and academic GPs who perform over and above the standard expected of their role. Awards are given for quality and excellence, acknowledging exceptional personal contributions.

There are 12 levels of award. Levels 1–8 are awarded locally (employer based awards) and levels 9–12 (consecutively bronze, silver, gold and platinum) are awarded nationally (England and Wales). 

To be considered for an award, consultants and academic GPs will have to demonstrate achievement in developing and delivering high-quality patient care, and commitment to the continuous improvement of the NHS.

The awards are co-ordinated and awarded by the Advisory Committee on Clinical Excellence Awards (ACCEA), sponsored by the Department of Health and Social Care. There are only 300 awards available every year, covering bronze, silver, gold and platinum and all medical specialties, so the process is very competitive. 

2019 awards

The 2019 awards round will open on Thursday 7 February and close at 17:00 on Thursday 4 April.

The RCR will not run a ranking and nomination process but will put its efforts into providing a citation for any Fellow who requests one, conditional upon receipt by us of application forms, CV and any key points for the citation by 12 noon on 28 February.

Fellows wishing to apply for a national award (Bronze, Silver, Gold or renewal) and requesting a citation from the College should send their forms, CV and key points by email (please note that there are separate email boxes for clinical radiology and clinical oncology).

Please note that late applications will not be accepted under any circumstances.

Who can apply for an award?

ACCEA will accept applications for new national awards and from those due to renew their award in 2019.

Consultants will need to put in a renewal application if:

  • They received their current award in the 2015 round
  • Their award was last renewed in 2014 (awarded in 2010, 2005, 2000).

Some awards may be renewed outside of the usual cycle if there is a change in job or a significant change in job plan.

Application forms and guidance notes are available to download on the ACCEA website.

Bronze and Silver applicants may choose to submit one of the following options:

  • Research & Innovation (Form D)
  • Teaching & Training (Form E)
  • Leadership Management (Form F)

Gold applicants should submit two of these options.

Applicants should be aware that it is their responsibility and not the College's to ensure that they complete the form on ACCEA's website and submit it by the closing date (17:00 on Thursday 4 April). The College is unable to upload any supporting statements until your application has been submitted to ACCEA.

Platinum awards

Platinum awards are assessed by the Academy of Medical Royal Colleges before being submitted to ACCEA. Anyone wishing to apply for a Platinum award should submit their forms by email to Platinum Awards by midday on 14 February.

Renewals of platinum awards
Renewals are submitted directly to ACCEA. The Academy does NOT have any role in the process for renewals. Renewals require endorsement of the Chief Executive of the employing organisation but not the College or Academy. Citations are required and should be provided by a relevant individual or organisation (which can of course include a College/Faculty).
Consultants will need to put in a renewal application if:

  • They received their current award in the 2014 round
  • Their award was last renewed in 2013 (awarded in 2009, 2004, 1999).

Contacting the College about the Clinical Excellence Awards

If you require any further information or advice please contact the Clinical Excellence Awards team (either clinical radiology or clinical oncology).