Gold Medal

The Gold Medal is awarded by Council upon the recommendation of the Honours Committee to an esteemed Fellow of the College who has made a significant contribution in their field whether in the UK or overseas. 

Any Fellow of the College may submit a nomination to the Honours Committee, which should consist of their nominee's CV and a brief statement indicating the reasons for the nomination.

Serving Officers and Honours Committee members will not be eligible for this award.  Self-nominations are not permitted.

Until November 2008, there were two equally prestigious medals awarded, the President's Medal and the Gold Medal.

2019 nominations

Nominations are now open. Please contact the Executive Assistant for more information. The closing date is Friday 6 September 2019.

List of medallists

2019Professor David Sebag-Montefiore
2018Professor Tim Illidge
2017Dr J M Curtis
2016Professor J E Adams
2015Professor D M Hansell
2014 Professor W G McKenna 
2013Professor P J Hoskin
2012Professor I W McCall 
2011Professor D J Allison
2009Professor Dame Janet Husband DBE
2008*Professor R H Reznek
2007*Professor A K Dixon
2006*Professor A N Adam
2006 Dr L Leong
2005*Professor A Barrett
2004*Dr P L Anslow
2004Professor J Mallard
2003* Professor J R Yarnold 
2002*Professor S Field
2001*Professor G M Roberts
2001Professor G M Bydder
2000*Professor M I Saunders
1999*Dr C D R Flower
1998Professor B Worthington
1995Professor Ian Isherwood
1992Dr James Ambrose
1987Dr Frank Ellis
1986Sir Thomas Lodge, Professor Sir Brian Windeyer & Professor Sir David Smithers
1985Professor R E Steiner CBE
1983Professor Sir Howard Middlemiss CMG
1976Sir Peter Kerley CVO
1972S Cochrane Shanks CBE
1966Professor W V Mayneord CBE & Professor Ralston Paterson CBE MC
1961The Rt Hon Viscount Crookshank CH & Mr Edgar Rouse

* indicates President's Medal awards  

back to top