The College

About the President

President: Dr Giles Maskell

Giles Maskell studied medicine at Merton College, Oxford and at St Thomas’ Hospital in London, qualifying as a doctor in 1980. After five years working in general medicine and gastroenterology he undertook radiology training first at Guy’s Hospital in London and later at Addenbrooke’s Hospital, Cambridge and in Auckland, New Zealand.

He was appointed consultant at the Royal Cornwall Hospital in Truro in 1991 where he continues to work as a radiologist with interests in gastro-intestinal and oncological radiology. He has served two terms as the trust’s Director of Cancer Services.

Giles’ involvement with the RCR began as regional chairman for the South West. He subsequently became editor of the RCR Newsletter and later served as Medical Director, Professional Practice (then known as Registrar) from 2003–2006. During this time he carried out the first RCR radiology workforce census, which continues to provide invaluable information about the current workforce on a yearly basis. He is a member of the government advisory Committee on Medical Aspects of Radiation in the Environment (COMARE) and has undertaken work with several government departments on projects as diverse as post-mortem imaging and the imaging of suspected drug traffickers.

Away from radiology, Giles is married to a GP and has three teenage children. He is a keen skier and recreational cyclist. Getting from Truro to London each week involves a long train journey, which gives him plenty of reading time. Once in London, his preferred method of transport is the “Boris bike”, an experience that he finds alternately life-affirming and life-threatening or frequently both in the course of the same short journey. 

Past Presidents of the College, 1974 to 2013

Dr Jane Barrett OBE 2010-2013 
Professor Andy Adam CBE 2007-2010 
Professor Dame Janet Husband DBE 2004-2007
Dr Dan Ash 2001-2004
Professor Peter Armstrong 1998-2001
Dr Michael Brindle CBE 1995-1998
Sir Christopher Paine 1992-1995
Dr Oscar Craig 1989-1992
Professor E Rhys Davies CBE 1986-1989
Mr William Ross CBE TD DL 1983-1986
Dr John Laws CBE 1980-1983
Professor Robert Steiner CBE 1977-1980
Professor Eric Easson CBE 1975-1977
Professor Sir Howard Middlemiss CMG 1974-1975